Langkawi: Jacuzzi Prawn

I love prawns and shrimps!

If there’s a kind food that I can eat every day, that’s prawn & shrimp! If you wonder what’s the difference between the shrimps and prawns, the answer is simple: Prawns are usually larger, have longer legs and have claws on 3 pairs of legs. Shrimps are usually smaller and have shorter legs with claws on 2 pairs of legs only. If you need a more scientific explanation, read this: Prawns are decapod crustaceans belonging to the sub-order Dendrobranchiata. Shrimp are decapod crustaceans belonging to the sub-order Pleocyemata. I’m happy with simple explanations and focus on enjoying the taste.

During my visit to Netherlands I indulged prawn & shrimp almost every day. From shrimp sushi, prawn tempura to starter and main being prawn dishes.

Canaletto: Prawn as the starter
Canaletto: Prawn as the starter
Canaletto: Prawn as the main
Canaletto: Prawn as the main

After having dinner full of prawns in Amsterdam restaurant Canaletto, the very next day during my trip to multiple places including fishing village Volendam, I still decided to have some fresh prawns! All my fellow travelers went to a fast food restaurant recommended by the guides, only I decided to walk alone and find the other kind of food available. Luckily, after some wandering on the beautiful shore of Volendam, I finally found a local restaurant Van den Hogen. Without much thinking, I ordered a Dutch beer and fresh prawns.

Van den Hogen: Entrance
Van den Hogen: Entrance
Van den Hogen: Interior
Van den Hogen: Interior
Van den Hogen: Displays
Van den Hogen: Displays
Van den Hogen: My table
Van den Hogen: My table
Fresh catch of the day in Volendam
Fresh catch of the day in Volendam

Sometimes when I come home, my Mom graces me with prawns and shrimps dishes: Soups, grills, roasted with met, soaked in coconut juice. I don’t have cooking talents my Mom possesses but nothing prevents me from making a prawn dish tonight with asparagus:

Home: Marinated prawn and asparagus
Home: Marinated prawn and asparagus

On Saturdays, sometimes craving for prawn don’t let me sleep, and I wake up at 6am and head straight to Billingsgate Market to get the fresh catch of the day. All the prawn that I get here were still swimming in the sea last night. I usually soak fresh catch of the prawns in beer, lemongrass and fresh red/green chili and boil them. That how I start my weekend.

With so many prawn and shrimp dishes I have had so far, still, I dream about Jacuzzi Prawn that I had in Langkawi more than two years ago during an unforgettable trip:

Langkawi: Jacuzzi Prawn
Langkawi: Jacuzzi Prawn

Leave a comment